Women and men in a discussion
The realisation of equal opportunities requires perseverance. (Image: Astrid Eckert / TUM)

Gender Equality Office

The Gender Equality Office assists the Gender Equality Officer in her task to promote equality between women and men at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). The Bavarian University and College Act of 1989 included this position in addition to the existing position of Equal Opportunity Officer in order to create a support role for all female researchers. Together they support the university in fulfilling their legal mandate.

The primary task of the Gender Equality Officer is to enforce real equality of women and men at TUM. She is the contact person for students and research staff, whereas the Equal Opportunity Officer is the contact person regarding all equality issues of non-scientific staff. Both, the Gender Equality Officer and the Equal Opportunity Officer, work closely together.

As a voting member the Gender Equality Officer also takes part in the TUM Senate as well as in the TUM Extended Board of Trustees and continuously supports the gender equality efforts of the TUM Board of Trustees.

Network Gender & Diversity at TUM

The Gender & Diversity Board supports the legal representatives in advising and developing new strategies and structural measures for the TUM. The members of the board come from the Corporate Administration, from the departments and the TUM Graduate School. They act as a bridge to the science management and to the research and teaching institutions at all three sites of TUM. If needed, experts are consulted as guests of the board.

The Equality Conference is headed by the Gender Equality Officer. This conference is established in the Basic Order of TUM (Grundordnung der TUM) as a panel for all members of the university interested in gender equality. The Gender Equality Officer leads the information management for the network of Gender Equality Officers at the departments as well as the Equal Opportunity Officers and all related diversity management positions at the departments of TUM.

Frauen und Männer diskutieren
Die Verwirklichung des Gleichstellungsauftrags erfordert Ausdauer. (Bild: Astrid Eckert / TUM)

Gender Equality Office

Das Gender Equality Office unterstützt die Hochschulfrauenbeauftragte in der Ausführung des Gleichstellungsauftrags. Das Bayerische Hochschulgesetz hat das Amt 1988 mit aufgenommen, um eine Unterstützungsfunktion für alle Wissenschaftlerinnen zu schaffen.  Die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte wurde 1996 eingeführt. Gemeinsam unterstützen sie die Universität in der Erfüllung des gesetzlich vorgesehenen Auftrags.

Primäre Aufgabe der Hochschulfrauenbeauftragten (Gender Equality Officer) ist die tatsächliche Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern an der TUM durchzusetzen. Sie ist Ansprechpartnerin für Studierende und wissenschaftliches Personal. Die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte steht hingegen als Ansprechpartnerin in Gleichstellungsfragen für nichtwissenschaftliches Personal zur Verfügung. Beide arbeiten eng zusammen.

Die Hochschulfrauenbeauftragte nimmt darüber hinaus am Senat und der Erweiterten Hochschulleitung als stimmberechtigtes Mitglied teil und unterstützt kontinuierlich die Gleichstellungsarbeit im Hochschulrat.

Netzwerk Gender & Diversity an der TUM

Das Gender & Diversity Board unterstützt die gesetzlichen Ämter bei der Beratung und Entwicklung neuer Strategien und Strukturmaßnahmen für die TUM. Die Mitglieder rekrutieren sich aus der Zentralen Verwaltung, den Fakultäten und der TUM Graduate School. Sie bilden die Brücke in das Wissenschaftsmanagement und in die Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen aller drei Standorte der TUM. Bei Bedarf wird die Expertise von Gästen eingeholt.

Die Hochschulfrauenbeauftragte hat die Leitung der Gleichstellungskonferenz inne. Diese ist ein in der Grundordnung der TUM etabliertes Gremium für alle an der Gleichstellung Interessierten der Technischen Universität München. Sie bündelt das Informationsmanagement für das Netzwerk der Fakultätsfrauenbeauftragten, der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten und allen Diversity Managementstellen in den Fakultäten.